The history of Malang was written of Kucewara means "God destroys false and uphold the good". The logo was approved became motto of Regional Municipality Level II Malang on 1 April 1914.
The motto is closely related to the origin of Ken Arok, approximately 8 centuries ago became place name in Sekotar temple named Malang. The temple location is still in question and requires further research. Malang and surrounding areas including Singosari, which was politics center and culture in year 760-1414, by written in Dinoyo stone. The activity during that time was followed by cultural and can’t be described as the development of one dynasty, but series of political and cultural activities of some derivatives.
Further expressed from several breeds, there are clearly separated in sense that there is no relationship between one another descendants, such descendants Dewasimba, Gajayana in Dinoyo with Balitung descent. Daksha, Tulodog and then Sindhok. Descendants going to Dharmawangsa, Airlangga until the last rule was king Kertajaya (1215-1222). Then the emergence of Ken Arok dynasty was the first relay Majapahit kings until the last king of Tumapel (1447-1451). At the time of Ken Arok showed activities, Tumapel just a district in Jenggala area rule at that time was under by Kertajaya of Kediri kingdom. Batara Malangkucecwara, mentioned in charter of the year 908 near Singosari.
Charter in 907 it was explained, that the people who got the charter was God cults in Malang, Putecwara Kutusan, Cilebhedecwara and Tulecwara. The mention of names like Batara in Malangkucecwara, putecwara prove that these names are kings who ruled and buried in Batara temple. Dinoyo temple lies in country side of Malang.